ERAS Implementation Webinar

June 12, 2021, 4:00 pm
June 12, 2021, 5:30 pm
Registration Closed
Share this event

Registration will soon open for our next webinar “ERAS Implementation”

12th June, 16:00-17:30 CET

Co-chairs Prof Nicolas Demartines (Switzerland) and Prof Gregg Nelson (Canada)

Webinar Agenda

Professor Nicolas Demartines (CHE)
Introduction - how do we increase ERAS® implementation worldwide
5 min
Dr Kwang Yeong How (SGP)
Creating the ERAS® team – the importance of engaging with the right people:
Surgeons' perspective
5 min
Dr Hans D de Boer (NLD)
Anesthesiologists’ perspective
5 min
Pat Trudeau RN (CAN)
Nurses’ perspective
10 min
Professor Mary Brindle (CAN)
Creating an ERAS® order set - how to put guidelines into practice
10 min
Professor Martin Hubner (CHE)
Audit of ERAS compliance and outcomes - work perceived vs. work completed
5 min
Dr Ravi Oodit (ZAF)
What are the barriers to ERAS implementation in low- and middle-income countries?
Valerie Addor RN (CHE)
The nurse's role in ERAS® implementation
Mr Garry Laxdal (CAN)
The patient's role in ERAS® implementation
Co- Chairs: Professor Gregg Nelson and Professor Nicolas Demartines, all above speakers and with Tracy Wasylak (CAN) and Professor Olle Ljungqvist (SWE)

Event Media

Enter your 6 digit access code

Don't have the code? Get the code


Professor Nicolas Demartines (Switzerland)

Chairman of the ERAS Implementation Program

Nicolas Demartines obtained his MD degree at the University of Geneva in 1985, and achieved his board of Surgery in 1990 at the University of Basel Medical School, Switzerland. He has been Professor of Surgery, and Chairman of the…

Dr How Kwang Yeong is a consultant surgeon in the Colorectal Service of the General Surgery Department, Tan Tock Seng Hospital. He specializes in minimally invasive surgery, including endoscopic, laparoscopic and robotic techniques for the treatment of colon and…

Dr Hans D de Boer (Netherlands)

Chairman Executive Committee

Hans D de Boer, is a staff anesthesiologist and Pain Specialist in the Department of Anesthesiology, Pain Medicine and Procedural Sedation and Analgesia at the Martini Hospital in Groningen, The Netherlands. Hans D de Boer, MD, PhD, is a…

Ravi Oodit is a general surgeon, Cape Town, South Africa. He has an interest in surgical gastroenterology, laparoscopic surgery and the Enhanced Recovery After Surgery (ERAS) Program. He is the African lead for the ERAS® program and the Perioperative…

Valérie Addor (Switzerland)

Chairwoman of the ERAS Implementation Program

Valérie Addor works at the Department for Visceral Surgery at the University Hospital CHUV in Lausanne, Switzerland. She has been involved in ERAS® since 2011. As an ERAS dedicated nurse and coach, her main interests are multidisciplinary work and…

Professor Gregg Nelson (Canada)

Treasurer Executive Committee

Professor Gregg Nelson is Deputy Head of the Department of Obstetrics & Gynecology at the Cumming School of Medicine in Calgary, Alberta, Canada and is Chief of Gynecologic Oncology at the Tom Baker Cancer Centre. His principal research interests…

Olle Ljungqvist is a professor of Surgery at Örebro University and KarolinskaInstitutet Sweden He co-founded the ERAS® Society and is currently serving as the Chairman of its Executive Committee. He invented the idea of preoperative oral carbohydrates instead of…

Garry Laxdal is from Calgary. He has successfully battled rectal cancer from six years ago. Garry is now a Patient Advisor with the Surgical Strategic Clinical Network with Alberta Health Services. He is also the Co-Chair of the Patient…

Pat Trudeau (Canada)

Registered Nurse

Pat Trudeau is a Registered Nurse working with the Enhanced Recovery After Surgery (ERASAlberta) Provincial Coordination Team under the Surgery Strategic Clinical Network™ for Alberta Health Services in Alberta, Canada. She has practiced for over 30 years as a…

Professor Mary Brindle (Canada)

Executive Secretary & Appointed Guideline Co-chair

Mary Brindle is a pediatric surgeon and Professor or Surgery and Community Health Sciences at the University of Calgary in Alberta Canada. She is also the Scientific Director of the Alberta Surgery SCN and the Director of the Safe…